What are nutrition solutions?

Posted on January 21, 2008. Filed under: cholesterol, diabetes, nutrition, weight | Tags: , , , , |

Welcome!

Many people prefer to manage health with diet and exercise rather than drugs. For 40 years my research and practice has focused on control of blood fats, diabetes, high blood pressure and weight through nutrition measures. In this blog I will share with you some of the approaches we have used.

Jim Anderson, MD, (aka, NutDoc), trained in internal medicine, endocrinology and nutrition. I have done biochemistry lab research, hundreds of clinicals with drugs or nutrition for all these conditions, but have felt most fulfilled in trying to bring this research experience to the clinic where I have had an active practice. 

In this blog I will be sharing specific suggestions that  you can incorporate into your own lifestyle to improve health. Specifically, I will initially share the strategies that have been successful with my own patients. I will start with approaches to lowering blood cholesterol since drug use has recently been challenged. In the 1980’s I was know as the “oat doc.” In the 1990’s I became the “soy doc.” Now I want to be the “nut doc.”

About 30 years ago we developed new diets– high carbohydrate and fiber (HCF)– diets to better manage diabetes. We found that most people with diabetes could reduce their need for medications or insulin by 25-75% using this diet. These diet experiences helped many people lose weight but we needed better education stategies to empower people to make long-standing changes in lifestyle habits. In 1985 we established the HMR Weight Management Program at the University of Kentucky and have helped thousands of persons lose weight and maintain successful weight management long-term. We will share some of these guidances in this blog.

Send us your questions. On a regular basis we will post guidelines related to specific areas. While we will not be able to send answers to individual questions we will try to post comments  of general interest and respond to questions of general interest.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “What are nutrition solutions?”

RSS Feed for The Nutrition Physician’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I found your blog after reading the release announcement of your new book. I’m very much into nutritional education and application as THE means by which almost all diseases can be prevented and/or cured. I look forward to reading your book and watching for blog updates. Thank you very much for sharing your research results with us!

Dr. Anderson,
I tried to visit http://www.hcf-nutrition.org and I could not access it. I would appreciate your help so that I can check the site! Thank you very much,
Jean Micklewright RD LD

Hi Jean and other blog readers. Because we do not have a full-time staff in the HCF Nutrition Fdn. we did not keep up the website. We have been disconnected and no longer maintain this site. Sorry for the inconvenience. I will delete this info from my blog.

Bro Jim, I’m a fellow SS member. I spoke with you briefly on Sunday. Here’s my question – my mother, 83 yrs old, recently recovering from dehydration and renal failure is a diabetic. She is experiencing severe Blood Sugar spikes. She takes long acting insulin, 20 units per day, in the late evening. She has not been a healthy eater in the past, as she lived alone. Now she is living with me and is getting better nutrition. We have an appointment on Friday with a new PCP. She is experiencing some confusion from the spikes, I’m sure. Any comments would help. I am hoping her new PCP will refer her to an endocrinologist so we can get these spikes under control. Low BS in the am 115 – 179, but 400+ in the late afternoon,

Thanks

Hi Mike,thanks for the followup. As we discussed, I am not licensed to practice in TN and would not offer specific medical advise in this forum. Your mother’s PCP or endocrinologist will need to give you specific advise. In my experience, diabetic individuals with this blood glucose pattern need to have at least two injections of insulin daily. Many people do better with a combination of regular insulin and longer active insulin (such as 70/30 insulin) before breakfast and a long acting insulin in the evening. Blessings, Jim

I would love some sort of phone app that lets look at nutritional guidelines for food (to take with me to the grocery store), as well as a daily and weekly checklist for the diet? I’m hoping this is already in the works, but I could not find it on the app store.

I can’t find a ‘send us your questions’ button, so I’ll ask here… Can I use Skim Milk & Carnation Breakfast Essentials Complete Nutritional Drink, Packets, Dark Chocolate as a ‘shake’?

Hi Stephani, I do not have the nutrition information on this product. If the total calorie value is 200 calories or less and the protein content is 10 grams of more, it can be used as a shake. Best. Nutdoc


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Nutrition solutions for dealing with cholesterol, diabetes, or weight management.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

