Diabetes Book Availability

Posted on September 12, 2008. Filed under: diabetes, diet, nutrition, obesity, weight |

Dear friends,

Thank you for your comments related to my diabetes book. Unfortunately technical books, like textbooks, are expensive because the market is small. Maybe your public library could purchase one. Amazon.com carries our book, search for Pasupuleti, V, the first author. Sometimes good deals are available though them.

Please send me your questions as comments and I will try to answer them specificallly.

In a few words, if you are at risk for diabetes (strong family history, history of gestational diabetes, have a borderline blood glucose) these are things you can do. Most important, try to get down to your desirable weight (a BMI under 25- many websites help you calculate your BMI). Walk 30-45 minutes six days a week. Cut down on your intake of fat, especially red meat, all beef, pork and dark meat. Increase your intake of fiber from whole grain breads, cereals and beans. Take the supplements (magnesium, chromium, vanadium) described in my earlier Post.

Thanks and good luck.

Jim

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Diabetes Book Availability”

RSS Feed for The Nutrition Physician’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

At the beginning I did not believe it would work. But, when I began to serve them to my parents, I was astonished by the results. Their blood sugar level shifted down and their problems with skin infection and leg numbness were almost gone. I was pleased to see my parents happy with a lower blood sugar level.

Dr. Anderson,
I live in Lexington, KY in housing for seniors and disabled. Two of my friends here have type 2 diabetes. I gave each of them copies of your “Life-Saving Diet” book.
Both of them would like to get off of their drugs and get some support in using the diet. Are there any clinics or physicians here they could go to who will work with them to meet their goals? Thank you very much.
Zoe L.

Zoe,

Sorry for the delay in response; I’m Dr. Anderson’s assistant. We have not been checking the blog as often over the holiday months. I’ll have Dr. Anderson get back to your question as soon as he is available.

Thank you for your excellent question.
Lacey

Lacey,
Thank you very much.
Zoe

Dear Zoe,
Thank you very much. My colleagues, especially Dr. Dennis Karounos, at the University of Kentucky have experience with my high carbohydate, high fiber diet for Type 2 diabetes. Call 859-323-5821 for more information.
Best regards,
Dr. Jim Anderson

Dr Anderson
My son was recently diagnosed as type 2. I have read so many books and dietboooks. I’m still not satisfied. He doesn’t need to lose weight. I need to find someone that can help him with his meals. Could you recommend some in the Cincinnati area.

Thanks

Nancy

Dear Nancy,
The Endocrinology group at the University of Cincinnati has a good reputation for treatment of diabetes but I do not now anyone there now. Two of my books available at Amazon.com give good dietary guidance for management of Type 2 diabetes. These are “Dr. Anderson’s High Fiber Fitness Plan” and “The Simple Diet.” Although our extensive published research since 1976 clearly document that a high carbohydrate, high fiber, low fat diet is the most effective diet for management of bothe Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes, many dietitians and diabetologist now emphasis carbohydrate counting and limiting carbohydrate intake. These recommendations lead to more fat intake and more insulin resistance and a greater risk for coronary heart disease. Dr. David Jenkins and I reviewed the world literature and international recommendations from Diabetes Associations from all over the world; the consensus was that a high carbohydrate, high fiber, low fat diet was the treatment of choice for all persons with diabetes. This was published in the Journal of the American College of Nutrition, vol 23, pages 5-17, 2004. There are no subsequent research reports that document the value of carbohydrate restriction for persons with diabetes. Of course, we are recommending fruits, vegetables, whole grain foods, potatoes, rice and other starch foods and not recommending excessive intake of sugar-sweetened drinks, cookies, candies, sweets and other junk food.
Best wishes to you and your son.
Jim Anderson, MD, FACP, FACN, CNS, FANS

Dear Dr. Anderson,

I have ordered both Simple Diet and Nutraceuticals and am waiting for delivery. I have type 2 diabetes and would like to follow the diet. I am already doing exercise hiking elevated trails in Arizona 5 days/week for over a year now. i am looking for a good doctor here in AZ and would appreciate if you have recommendations. I also have a question. I have read that the presence of a latent virus (that can not be diagnosed from blood work since no antibodies) could cause the immune system to dysfunction and affect my diabetes. In addition, I have read that allergies especially from whole grains wheat could also impact my diabetes. Is there a reliable way to determine allergies and what kind of doctor can do this? The book talking about latent viruses and grain allergies is by Dr. Bruce Duncan called “CFIDS, Fibromyalgia and the Virus-Allergy Link – New Theraphy for Chronic Functional Illnesses”. Thank for having this blog and writing the books. I can not wait to read them.

James

Hi James,
Thanks for your comments. Sounds like your physical activity is great– a very important contribution to diabetes management. I do not have a specific physician to recommend to you and, also, I have not monitored the allery links to type 2 diabetes. Best wishes, Nutdoc

Thank you very much for your reply.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Nutrition solutions for dealing with cholesterol, diabetes, or weight management.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

