Three Shakes Daily

Posted on May 6, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Dear Simple Diet-ers.

A common QUESTION. Do I need to have three shakes per day? Family and friends raise this question because they do not enjoy shakes enormously  and have difficulty getting in three per day.

ANSWER: Three shakes per day are the most important ingredient for success in Phase One of the Simple Diet. Shakes are filling and provide satiating protein and high quality nutrition. My research and clinical experience indicates that three shakes per day are the key reason that the Simple Diet is more successful in promoting weight loss than published results on other diets and diet programs.

My deeply felt recommendation is that you continue three shakes, two entrees, and five fruits or vegetables until you have lost about 80% of the weight you wish to lose.

Best, Jim

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Three Shakes Daily”

RSS Feed for The Nutrition Physician’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Jim, I use “Body Fortress” whey protein, one scoop in 8oz water, 140 cals, 2g fat, 26g protein, breakfast & mid-afternoon snack. I was using one after dinner as a dessert, but I’m up during the night about 3 times to urinate, as I also drink 8x8oz water. So much liquids. I could have one mid-morning I guess. Down 4lbs in first week. I weigh again tomorrow.

Hi Knitter, keep up the good work. You are losing water the first week. I’d maintain the same program. Best, Jim

Jim,

My stomach couldn’t tolerate a lot of the shakes so after researching many of them, I found I could drink Mix 1 all natural protein shakes without any problems, in fact, they’re yummy. My question is they’re at the high end of your recommendations: 200 calories, 2.5 G fat, 15 g protein, 29 g of carbs, will that slow my weight loss? I’m eating three entrees, drinking 3 shakes, and mostly more than 5 fruits and veggies daily. I’m 5,2″ and need to lose 75 pounds. I have only seen 2 lbs weight loss each of the three weeks I’ve been on the Simple diet, I love the philosophy of the plan and it fits my lifestyle perfectly,

Thank you,

Gigi

Hi Tina, the shakes you use are fine. You should lose weight steadily on your diet if you can also walk about 2 miles or 40 minutes per day (or do equivalent physical activity.)Best wishes, Jim


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Nutrition solutions for dealing with cholesterol, diabetes, or weight management.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

