Faster Weight Loss for Simple Diet-ers

Posted on July 11, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

All of us want rapid weight loss. The Simple Diet is helping uncounted numbers of people do this. Eighty Simple-Diet-ers report average weight losses of 23 pounds in 8 weeks and about 35 pounds in 16 weeks. That’s about 3 pounds per week for 8 weeks and more than 2 pounds per week over 16 weeks. These weight losses are higher than we had when I saw patients weekly in my clinic. [Of course, the 80 people reporting may be bragging a little and probably the more successful people are those who report results.]

Being the researcher I am, I have done more calculations. Our clinic records give me data on weight losses for persons weighing approximately 140#, 180# and 220#.  Someone weighing 140# should lose about 12 pounds in 8 weeks and 17 pounds in 16 weeks. If you weigh about 180 pounds you should lose 17 pounds in 8 weeks and 25 pounds in 16 weeks on the Simple Diet. The person weighing about 220# should lose about 21# in 8 weeks and 33# in 16 weeks.

My calculations suggest that the average person on the Simple Diet is consuming about 1400 calories per day. On the Simple Diet you can use 3 shakes, 2 entrees, 3 vegetables and 2 fruits and consume as little as 1000 calories. On the other hand, you could consume 1500 calories or more and still be following the diet carefully. If you consume 1000 calories per day you lose 1# (one pound!) more per week than if you consume 1500 calories per day.

FOR FASTER WEIGHT LOSS, try this. Choose 3 shakes that have 150 calories or less per shake. Choose two entrees that have 240 calories or less per entrée. Select 3 vegetables from the low calorie list (26 choices, page 271, The Simple Diet) and choose 2 fruits from the low calorie column (10 choices, page 270). If you do not have bars or extra servings of these items you can get a healthy protein intake (70 grams/day) and consume less than 1100 calories. Chances are, making these diet choices and burning 2000 calories in physical activity will increase your weight loss by almost a pound per week. Try it, you’ll like it.

Many of our recommended shakes and entrees meet these criteria. Two shakes that I use are: HMR70 Plus shakes (110 calories—HMR 859-422-4671) and Vanilla Pleasure soy shakes (120 calories—1-800-REVIVAL). I use HMR  shelf-stable entrees and they have good choices around 240 calories or lower. You can find many choices at groceries, pharmacies and nutrition stores. Kick start you weight loss by making these choices. Best, Jim

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “Faster Weight Loss for Simple Diet-ers”

RSS Feed for The Nutrition Physician’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Hi Dr. Anderson…our chance meeting at an airport on 7/7 was interesting. As we talked and our conversation migrated to nutrition, I became interested in your book The Simple Diet. I will read the book and see what benefits and weight loss I can achieve. I hope you made it to your destination safely…we ended up flying half way, and then renting a car and arriving at our destination at midnight! I look forward to reading your book and losing some extra pounds!

Hi Cathy, sorry to be slow. Hope you got your daughter enrolled in Vanderbilt. We flew to Detroit and spent the night there. Blessings, Jim

I’m interested in trying this diet. I have not bought the book yet but wanted to know how do you eat in restaurants on this diet?

Hi Teresa,
Eating out at restaurants can be done but it is a challenge. You can order vegetables cooked without oil, green vegetable salads without dressing, croutons, cheese etc (but can take or use non-fat dressings), fruit cups or raw fruit without anything added. I have have restaurants heat up entrees and also I have stirred up shakes on my own. I often eat an entree or use a shake before going to a restaurant, eat salad and fruit in the restaurant, and then complete my meal when I get home. Best, Nutdoc

Hi Doctor Anderson,
I am wondering what to do about the problem I have of getting hungry on the Simple Diet. I realize the book says to add more volume, more shakes and entrees, and more fruits and vegetables. However, which item would be the best to add first, if you are feeling hungry and weak, to the basic three shakes, two entrees, and 5 fruits and vegetables? More entrees, more fruits and vegetables, or more shakes, or even a bar? In other words, which would be your first or preferable choice? I am 50 years old, very active, 5 feet, 4 inches, weigh 147 pounds, trying to get to 135, and prediabetic. I’m determined to make this work for me. Thanks for your help!

Hi Marge, thanks for your question– a common one. Because of your low starting weight, you will not lose as fast as 200+ pounders. For this reason I would, first, use powdered shakes and make each on to about 20 oz. and, second, add low calorie veggies (in left hand column of Calorie Guide) and then add low calorie fruits. Good luck. Nutdoc

Thanks so much! I’ll get there, I appreciate the encouragement and advice.

Hello Dr. Anderson! I just began your program and was inspired by my mother-in-law and a friend at church. Thank you for your research, and for formulating a plan that is economical and practical!
Stacy

Hi Stacy, Thanks. I post information on my Facebook in an ongoing fashion. You may want to check it out. Best, Jim
http://www.facebook.com/andersonsimplediet?sk=page_insights

I am a 66 year old female on synthroid and so you see it is hard to lose those extra lbs. I have never been a vegetable eater except salads but I do love fruit so I am having 4 shakes a day with the last one with 2 cups of frozen berries, my favorites being rasberries and have been losing well. I also ordered some dehydrated foods from diet direct which come in at around 100 calories a serving for in between my shakes. I jump some on my mini trampoline as it doesn’t hurt my knees and I don’t have to go out in the snow and ice. My clothes are fitting better and I can tell I’m losing weight, I have 50 lbs. to lose but if it takes me a year thats alright since I don’t have to cook much and am enjoying the food. Thanks

wonderful points altogether, you just received
a new reader. What could you recommend in regards to your submit
that you simply made some days ago? Any sure?

Hi Virgil, thanks. You can get more info at andersonsimplediet.com and on Facebook at Simple Diet. Feel free to contact me about specific questions. Best, nutdoc.

I have read so many content about the blogger lovers except this post is really a fastidious piece of writing, keep
it up.

I have a real quick question, would there be a problem with making a green smoothie instead of drinking a shake? I really am not a big fan veggies but have found that I don’t mind having a green smoothie but want to make sure that I incorporate the green smoothie correctly.

Hi Marla,
You can use smoothies including vegetables as for shakes. Be sure that you include 10 grams of protein and no more than 6 grams of fat. I have not done this very much so cannot not give you my favorite recipes. Best,
Jim

I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

Thanks very much. I am very pleased with the help that people have received from the Simple Diet. Best, Jim

The power comes from going into a hypnotic state of mind to control your own mind.

I don’t know about you, but when I used to diet, the reduced calories along with exercise would
have me dragging along – I had zero energy. The
drug can cause hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) at times.

Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
Extremely useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such
information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for
a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Your style is really unique compared to other folks I’ve
read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess
I’ll just book mark this blog.

Thanks for sharing such a nice thought, article is nice, thats why i have read it entirely

What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled
upon this I’ve found It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads.
I hope to give a contribution & aid different users like
its aided me. Great job.

Im not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. All the best keefaafkkeaa


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Nutrition solutions for dealing with cholesterol, diabetes, or weight management.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

